Writing Improvisations: To Get Up Again

It’s been ages since I’ve updated this because busy busy busy! Can’t share anything I’ve been busy with either. So bugger it all, let’s do another writing improv, where I take an instrumental song and just write to it until it’s over. I’m sober, so who knows what’ll happen this time!

Song is called “To Get Up Again” by the lovely Thomas Rakowitz. Find him at those links.

To Get Up Again

It can be so hard, to get out of bed, to face the day, to push through the dread. It can be so hard, to just wake up, to strip the covers, head to work, strip your emotions, not let it hurt. Sometimes I just want to sleep.

It can be so hard, to rise from the grave, to break through the ground, and see what’s left to be made. I don’t want to move, I don’t want to die again, because when I close my eyes, all I see are fireflies.

Yet I’m going to get up again, I’ll rise up again. I’m not a worthless; I’m not a monster, and so I’ll get up again, will fight again. The world broke me once, but I’ll get up again, and I’ll make sure when it all ends again, that the ends are mine, the beginnings mine.

It takes an end to mark a begin to something new.

It can be so hard, to just wake up, to drop your dreams and be forced to shut down your emotions, everything, for one more day at being alive.

Yet I’m going to get up again, I’ll rise up again. I was a monster yesterday, but today is a new day, a new chance to win, begin, again, and again, and again. I’m no longer a monster.

I have risen from the grave like a phoenix made of grass, and as I look towards the sun, I can’t help but laugh at the past. It no longer burns my skin, no longer shuns me away. I was a creature of the night, but that was yesterday. Damn my craving for blood; damn my craving for flesh, I’ll not harm another again, I’ll not harm myself or crash and burn like the end of the world.

When something falls, something has to rise in return. So I’ll get up again, I’ll rise up again. I’ll make this work, cast aside, and when the road forks left and right, I’ll take the path that the sun highlights.

I have gotten up again.

3 thoughts on “Writing Improvisations: To Get Up Again

    1. Thanks! Yeah, it certainly makes for some interesting pieces. I hope to do more of these in the future. Was really into em earlier in the year and fell off. Gotta get the groove back.

Leave a Reply

