Writing Improvisations: The High Above the Lows

Welcome back to Writing Improvisations, where I grab a song and write to it from start to finish! Damn the grammatical errors, because they don’t matter for these! Well, sometimes they do, but not right now. Today’s song is by the lovely Thomas Rakowitz, because it always is. I blame him. Have at it!

“The High above the Lows” can be found here

Thomas Rakowtiz’ Soundcloud page can be found here

The High above the Lows

I am high, though sometimes low, but right now it’s right, and not so so.

I sigh. I sigh. I sigh. I sigh.

There are times, when I don’t know, but right now is right, and that is so. There are times, when life can suck, but sometimes I wonder, who gives a fuck? Not right now, not right then, not right when, nor not right ten or nine or sometimes time or then or now or God who cares when you’re feeling right and no one cares. Or at least I don’t.

Come sit with me, by this fire, we’ll talk and listen, complain and wonder, fix the world, solve our problems, this and that and boom, we just solved ’em. It’s amazing how easy things can be when you just sit right back and cease to be a stupid something trapped in life, trapped in death, trapped in indifference.

I’m scared. Yes. No. Let’s not be anymore.

Watch the fire, it crackle burns, flicks up high and turn and turns. Reds and blues from copper pennies, licking flames and horses whinny from across the pond to set the mood while stars smile on and on and on and on and on and on until forever. Because that’s how long the universe lasts, you know. It goes on forever. I know this much, I know this so, for sewing problems are best unstitched, and highs are best with lows unhitched.

So pass around the whiskey; pass around the bong. Pass around the flutes and guitars; let music abound! There are highs there, literal and metaphorical, but most of all, it doesn’t matter. It’s called relaxing you fool, and sometimes that’s all that’s needed.

And there we go.

Leave a Reply

