I Have No Thoughts and I Must Be

I may have mentioned before, but one of the things I really, really want to try my hand at is metal music. I love the genre, and as it turns out, I really enjoy screaming when no one is around to hear me be bad at it. The goal is, at some point in my life, put out an album, though the problems standing in my way are pretty big: I can’t sing very well or play a musical instrument. Luckily, I know my way around a digital audio workstation, so my biggest opponents right now are time and money (a really good guitar plugin will cost about $300).

Problems aside, that hasn’t stopped me from writing song lyrics and vocal melodies. I normally don’t share any of them, but it’s been awhile since I’ve posted any poetry. I’m also fairly happy with how this turned out, despite it being way darker than any of the other tunes I’ve written…which is kind of surprising given how dark those got.

The biggest inspiration here comes from Harlan Ellison‘s short story, “I Have No Mouth and I must Scream,” which is about an apocalyptic robot overlord named A.M. tormenting the last few humans left alive. It’s one of the most depressing things I’ve ever read, beating out Lovecraft in, “this is twisted in a really dark way” by a few miles. I recommend it.

The second inspiration, not as prominent but equally as important, is the simple phrase, “I think; therefore, I am” by Descartes. So enjoy, or don’t. This would really, really, really work better to music, of which I have none.

I have No Thoughts and I Must Be

Society
It stole from me
The whips they crack
So painfully
I’m forced to live
I’m forced to die
And have no thoughts
That are mine

Because all I hear are lies
A.M.-pologize
For eating at my mind
And all I am inside

All I’ve made are
Mistakes
All I feel is
Blind hate
All I want is
Go away
Oh please just let me be
All That’s left is
To fade
All I feel is
I’m fake
All I want is
Go away
You never let me be

Society
It tortures me
I try to hide
So futily
I cannot live
I cannot die
And have no voice
To scream at night

Because all I hear are lies
A.M.-pologize
For eating at my mind
And all I am inside

All I’ve made are
Mistakes
All I feel is
Blind hate
All I want is
Go away
Oh please just let me be
All That’s left is
To Fade
All I feel is
I’m fake
All I want is
Go away
You never let me be

Why
Nothing left is killing me
Why
Chained to you
I am not free
Why
Nothing left is killing me
Why I have no thoughts and I must be

I have no thoughts and I must be
I have no thoughts and I must be
I have no thoughts and I must be

Leave a Reply

