Writing Improvisation: Sailing with Memories

Hello and welcome to Writing Improvisations, where I take a song and write to it. I’d explain more, but I don’t think I need to. I take a song and write to it. Pretty simple. I edit sparingly in order to preserve whatever nonsense my fingers churn out. This time, I’ve chosen a song by–and no one is surprised–Thomas Rakowitz.

The song is called Sailing with Memories

Thomas’ Soundcloud page can be found here

Sailing with Memories

I wish to leave, to run away, to flee this place, to sail today. Yes, to sail today, to craft a thing of the distant past, to make a trip into forever last. I craft the boat of deepest emotion, of love, of hate, of wonder, of might, of this and that and the joyest right. You cannot stop me, don’t you see? You cannot stop me from being me.

And with a boat, my cornerstone, I’m almost ready to leave alone, though alone I won’t be for the past is with me. Memories. That is what I bring, and I need them more than anything.

Oh don’t you see? Yes.

Oh don’t you see? Yes.

I craft the sail not of cloth but of memories and other worth. I think back to a time where happiness reigns most sublime. I can picture a place, of wonderful light, where the sun shines down on a meadow filled with flowers blooming, greenery teaming, and a cloudless sky that’s filled with hopeful seeming, or so I hope.

I think back and remember just, a time when I was without lust or fucks or the bothersome burdens of my mind. I remember a place, a specific time, and I smile and wave and shed the past into a sail where I may now at last flee the present and go elsewhere, beyond, to a better place and space and waste no more time on dwelling on my loathing.

The sun shines down on my now, and I bask in sunlight, in heat, oh the heat that washes away the cold for my sail is nearing completion, almost old, though time is but a relative thing, a superlative idea, but really meaningless when you think about it. But let’s not. Why would we anyways, when we have a vessel to go anywhere but forward? There’s so much in the past.

Let’s visit the dinosaurs, Egypt, the natives of the first world who set the stones for all that would unfurl and create the now. Let’s enjoy what cannot be enjoyed. Let’s embrace a fiction that does not exist and exit exit exit the current whatever this is.

Leave a Reply

