Writing Improvisations: Sustain

Welcome to this thing I do where I take a song and write to it until it’s over. As always, I keep editing light to preserve the nonsense in my head. Hope you like this one.

Song comes from Sir Thomas Rakowitz, and it can be found here

Thomas’ soundcloud page can be found here

“Sustain”

I close my eyes and see a beach, but instead of sand and brilliant heat, it’s made of ash and nothing’s dream. It stretches far but not quite wide, for reality is thin here, just for this one night. After tonight, the beach will be gone. So come, follow me along the beach, walking silently for something creeps and stalks in the ocean.

Gritty feelings beneath my feat of swaying ash, blackest crumble of volcanic leavings, though there are no volcanoes here. Those are for elsewhere, where logic can dance underneath the sun. We are not there, and that’s okay. It’s better to be here, just for one night. For one night, we can be ourselves and with each other. For one night, we can trail away beyond the sunset.

I see a beach of ash and cold, fleeting along in this made up world. I look to the horizon made of paper and mist and wonder what’s beyond Ahab’s pasteboard mast.

Water laps gently gently, but avoid it please, for acid burns its acrid smells and massive swells that will wash away perfect moments in time. It can hurt you, even here, but only if you let it. Ignore it all, though not the bad, for it’s pretty, don’t you think? It’s so perfectly green with hints of yellow, so Soylent sheen so lightning mellow. It matches the mood and the dancing you and I are about to do.

And as we lay here in this place, look to the sky, at it’s purple scape. How comes this place to be, I do not know, but why question perfection when we know it will never be so?

Sustain with me, this place of dreams; sustain with me, this place of dreams. Sustain with me, please just make this last, it’s all I have. I fear the past.

I fear so much, the then and when and yon and fore, but not the now, not this languid evermore.

But ever cannot be so, and soon enough, you’ll vanish from me, and I’ll be stuck in reality. I’ll be alone.

Leave a Reply

